Forum

Enabling reflections on a textured material?

30 April 2018 10:09
Nodes newbie here, thought I'd reach out to the community. I've got the hang of simple bitmap textures on objects, so I have two thin cubes at right angles to each other, each with their own texture. The general idea is of a shiny work surface, with a poster on the wall behind it. The poster should be visibly reflected in the work surface.

I've got reflections working for simple objects (simple Materials), but when I took the leap to using Textures, none of those tricks seem to work any more, and I'm blinded by all the options in the Nodes editor.

I have turned on Reflective for the work surface, and Reflexible for the poster, but I don't understand what to do with the Nodes of the work surface's material. As it stands, the texture shows but the result has no reflections at all. My nodes currently look like:

link (apologies for the imgur embedding fail)

So to get my texture working I have a Geometry (for the UV, it seems a "UV Map" node would also work there), to a Mapping (may not be required but it was in the tutorial I followed), to an Image Texture (seems to be how to define the texture image but I don't see why this is duplicated in the Texture panel), to a Diffuse BSDF, to a Material Output.

Should I introduce a B4W_REFLECT node to my graph? If so, where?

I ran into some very complicated posts such as https://www.blend4web.com/en/community/article/387/ and others but as a beginner I cannot see what to do with my Nodes from my current position.

I did try sticking a B4W_REFLECT node in, but it only caused chaos:

link

The surface became a kind of see-through window into a parallel dimension occupied by my texture. Not quite what I was going for :)